Celebrating Women Entrepreneurs

2016 marks 40 years of small business support from VEDC, so we're throwing a party in downtown Los Angeles.
For 40 years, VEDC has passionately supported small businesses and trained generations of entrepreneurs across the nation. This September, we celebrate our anniversary with a special award ceremony honoring accomplished women in business. Please join us for our special night of dinner and dancing, and elegant company in a celebrations of the entrepreneurial spirit.

September 24, 2016

6:00 PM Reception  •  7:00 PM Dinner


Share Your Own Stories

!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?’http’:’https’;if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+”://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,”script”,”twitter-wjs”);

Gala Sponsors

wells fargo vedc gala


ubs vedc gala

chase vedc gala


travelers vedc gala
Bank of America


cathay vedc gala

us bank vedc gala


capital one vedc gala

citi vedc gala

comerica vedc gala

unions vedc gala

Media Sponsors



Hero Award

Congresswoman Maxine Waters

Entrepreneurial Vision Award

Southwest Moulding

Financial Partner Award


Investing in the Future Award

JPMorgan Chase

Economic Impact Award

Wells Fargo


Grand Park, 200 N Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Complimentary Valet Parking Available
Get Directions

Gala Committee

Pegi Matsuda, Valley Presbyterian Hospital, VEDC Gala Chair & Board Member
Frances Pennington, Tory Burch LLC, VEDC Board Member
Roberto Barragan, VEDC, President & CEO
Alex Guerrero, VEDC, Senior VP, External Affairs
Donald E. St. Clair, VEDC, Acting VP, Marketing & Communications
Lisa Winkle, VEDC, Director of Marketing & Communications
Rubi Pacheco-Rivera, Special Projects Consultant
Coline Witt, Corporate Events Consultant

Honorary Dinner Committee

Federal Government
Karen Bass, Congressmember
Xavier Becerra, Congressmember
Tony Cardenas, Congressmember
Judy Chu, Congressmember
Lucille Roybal-Allard, Congressmember
Brad Sherman, Congressmember

State of California
Alex Padilla, Secretary of State

Betty Yee, Controller

Bob Hertzberg, Senator
Bob Huff, Senator
Tony Mendoza, Senator

Ed Chau, Assemblymember
Christina Garcia, Assemblymember
Mike Gatto, Assemblymember
Chris Holden, Assemblymember
Adrin Nazarian, Assemblymember

County of Los Angeles
Michael Antonovich, Supervisor
Sheila Kuehl, Supervisor
Hilda Solis, Supervisor

City of Los Angeles
Eric Garcetti, Mayor
Mike Fuer, City Attorney
Ron Galperin, City Controller

Herb Wesson, Council President
Bob Blumenfield, Councilmember
Mike Bonin, Councilmember
Joe Busciano, Councilmember
Gilbert Cedillo, Councilmember
Mitchell Englander, Councilmember
Felipe Funtes, Councilmember
Jose Huizar, Councilmember
Paul Koretz, Councilmember
Paul Krekorian, Councilmember
Nury Martinez, Councilmember
Curren Price, Councilmember
David Ryu, Councilmember

City of Glendale
Paula Devine, Mayor
Laura Friedman, Councilmember
Zareh Sinanyan, Councilmember

City of San Fernando
Robert Gonzales, Mayor, City of San Fernando
Sylvia Ballin, Councilmember, City of San Fernando

Board of Directors

Nishen Radia, Chairman
Focal Point Partners

Scott Aney, Vice-Chairman
City National Bank

Anne Williams, Secretary
California United Bank

Ariel Berrios, Treasurer
Buchalter Nemer

Pegi Matsuda, Immediate Past Chair
Valley Presbyterian Hospital

Ron Meraz
Southwest UBS Financial Services

Frances Pennington
Tory Burch LLC

Byron K. Reed
Wells Fargo Bank – Los Angeles Metro/ OC Region

Manuel A. Rosales
Verissimo Global

Dutch Ross
Economic Resources Corporation

Shala Tavakoli
Travelers Insurance

Chad Tredway
JPMorgan Chase

Leandro Tyberg
Primestor Development

Ray Vasquez
Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Jose Villalobos
TELACU Industries

Clarence Williams
California Capital

Mayumi Young
CPA Moms

John Marquis

Walt Mosher

Translate »